top of page

What's an ISO 9001:2015 Certification?

ISO 9001:2015 is an international standard that specifies requirements for a quality management system (QMS). Organizations that meet the requirements of the standard can be certified by an accredited certification body, demonstrating their commitment to quality and customer satisfaction.

team at table

The standard is based on a high level structure with 10 clauses:

  1. Scope: This clause defines the extent to which the QMS (Quality Management System) standard applies to the organization.

  2. Normative references: Lists the documents that are considered essential for the application of the standard.

  3. Terms and definitions: Defines the key terms used in the standard.

  4. Quality management system: Outlines the requirements for the development and implementation of the QMS.

  5. Leadership: Requires top management to demonstrate its commitment to the QMS and to lead the organization towards quality objectives.

  6. Planning: Requires the organization to plan for the development and implementation of the QMS, including the determination of processes needed and their interaction.

  7. Support: Requires the provision of resources, including people, infrastructure, and environment, needed for the QMS.

  8. Operation: Requires the implementation and control of processes to meet customer requirements and improve the QMS.

  9. Performance evaluation: Requires the evaluation of the QMS to determine its effectiveness and identify opportunities for improvement.

  10. Improvement: Requires the continuous improvement of the QMS, through the use of data obtained from performance evaluation and other relevant information.

women with tablet

The certification process involves an independent assessment of the organization's QMS by a certification body. This assessment includes a review of the organization's documentation, as well as on-site audits to verify that the QMS is being implemented and followed in practice. Once the certification body is satisfied that the organization meets the requirements of the standard, it will issue a certificate of compliance.

DNV certification example

The ISO 9001:2015 certification is recognized and accepted worldwide, and it can help organizations improve their quality management practices, increase customer satisfaction, and achieve a competitive advantage. It is also often a requirement for organizations that are bidding for government contracts or supplying products to large corporations. Wasco is an ISO 9001:2015 certified company through a third-party certifier, DNV, to demonstrate our commitment to continuous improvement and manufacturing superior quality pressure switches.


bottom of page